Congratulations to our 

2017 Entrepreneurs of the Year, PV Squared Solar!

PV2 fun sm2

DickHaasGoodphotosmr 001

Our region depends on small business owners who take the risk to make our communities a desirable place to live and work.
The Haas Award highlights positive examples of entrepreneurship based on years of hard work, community involvement and success of Dick and Janet Haas, owners of Hillside Plastic founders of Sugarhill Containers.  The CDC is pleased to have honored our wonderful nominees for their hard work, dedication to our community, and entrepreneurial spirit.

Every year we ask for nominations from the community to honor an entrepreneur who meets the following criteria:

  1.  Franklin county business owner
  2.  Business employs at least 3 full time jobs and has been in business for five years or more
  3.  Entrepreneur has made a commitment to improve our community through
         -social responsibility
         -environmental sustainability
         -financial contributions
        - volunteer time

2016 Entrepreneur of the Year Winner
Lisa Alber, Alber Hearing Services   

Lisa alber

2015 Entrepreneur of the Year Winner

Elmer's Store Ashfield


2014 Entrepreneurs of the Year 
Craig White and Bob Lindner

  craigandbob ent of yr  image           You gotta love these guys!

They have helped groups raise over $325,000 since 2001, opened three restaurants in Deerfield, Bernardson and Hadley and also have a catering business. Aside from working with over 100 fundraisers a year, Hillside Pizza provides a workplace for students with autism from the Inspire School in Guildford , Vt. 

2013 Haas Entrepreneurs of the Year
Karen Blom and Bruce Lessels

FCCDC-HaasPoster13FINAL lrg



2012 Haas Entrepreneurs of the Year 
Molly and Van Wood

 SmallCorpbanner lrg 

2011 Haas Entrepreneurs of the Year
Alden Booth and Lissa Greenough

On May 19th 2011 Alden Booth and Lissa Greenough founders of The People’s Pint restaurant and brewery and Gill Tavern, were named the recipients of the first annual Haas Entrepreneur of the Year Award.  John Waite, Franklin County CDC Executive Director, said Booth and Greenough "exemplify many of the traits a community wants in their business people. Their business is as much about delicious food and great beer as it is about community and respect for people and the environment."